Seeking Empowerment

Even the darkest night
will end and the
sun will rise.
- Victor Hugo


Being sad when a marriage ends is normal. Getting a divorce marks the beginning of enormous change in your life. It is natural to grieve for the loss of a relationship you expected to last forever, and for a future you had planned but will now be altered. Like any kind of loss, divorce may trigger a variety of reactions.

Many people experience five distinct stages of grief including denial, bargaining, depression, anger, and finally acceptance. People go through these stages in various orders and for different periods of time. It is critical to acknowledge that the grief and recovery process does have a beginning, middle, and end. Understanding these stages is helpful when it comes to talking about divorce and decision-making. Identifying the stage of grief you are experiencing and being aware of it is an important step towards ensuring that you will make the best choices during your divorce process. While you are attempting to manage your emotional recovery during your divorce journey, try to be gentle with yourself, seek support, and allow yourself to feel the range of emotions as they come.

As your personal coach, I will guide you to discover what you can do to steadily overcome your grief, to avoid shortsighted decisions, and to move forward in a positive and healthy manner.